The Fighting Times of Abe Attell


In stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9781476664323 Categories: , , ,

About the Book

 Abraham Washington Attell (1883–1970) was among the cleverest, most scientific professional boxers ever to enter the ring. The native San Franciscan fought 172 times—with 127 wins, 51 by knockout—and successfully defended his World Featherweight Champion title 18 times between 1906 and 1912, defeating challengers who included Johnny Kilbane and Battling Nelson. Abe’s success inspired his brothers Caesar and Monte to take up the sport—Abe and Monte both held simultaneous world titles for a time.
This first ever biography covers Attell’s life and career. Growing up poor and Jewish in an predominantly Irish neighborhood, he faced his share of adversity and anti–Semitism. He was charged for alleged involvement in the 1919 Black Sox Scandal. The charges were dropped but Attell was branded for the remainder of his life.

About the Author(s)

Mark Allen Baker is a former business executive, author, historian, and writer of hundreds of articles and 19 books. He holds the distinction of being the only person to serve the International Boxing Hall of Fame as an author, historian, chairperson, sponsor, volunteer and biographer. He lives in Hebron, Connecticut.

Bibliographic Details

Mark Allen Baker
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 278
Bibliographic Info: 45 photos, appendix, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2018
pISBN: 978-1-4766-6432-3
eISBN: 978-1-4766-2899-8
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments x

Preface 1

Introduction 3

One. Rising to the Occasion, 1900–1901 5

Two. A Champion’s Ascent, 1902–1903 23

Three. The Triad to Legitimacy, 1904 38

Four. Not So Fast, 1905 49

Five. As World Champion, 1906 58

Six. Preserve and Defend, 1907 72

Seven. Minister of Defense, 1908 81

Eight. Two Champions, Two Divisions and One Family, 1909 101

Nine. A Champion’s Pace, 1910 114

Ten. From the Comfort of Home, 1911 128

Eleven. Losing the Title, 1912 144

Twelve. The Thrill Is Gone, 1913–1919 163

Thirteen. The Black Sox Scandal of 1919, 1919–1921 183

Fourteen. Misdeeds and Mishaps in the Roaring Twenties 207

Fifteen. The Great Depression and Beyond 220

Sixteen. Clever Beyond Words 232

Appendix: Abe Attell Official Record 235

Chapter Notes 243

Bibliography 261

Index 265