Ian Rankin

A Companion to the Mystery Fiction

Not Yet Published


New 2019 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9780786471881 Categories: , , , Tag:

About the Book

Ian Rankin is considered by many to be Scotland’s greatest living crime fiction author. Most well known for his Inspector Rebus series—which has earned critical acclaim as well as scores of fans worldwide—Rankin is a prolific author whose other works include spy thrillers, nonfiction books and articles, short stories, novels, graphic novels, audio recordings, television/film, and plays.
This companion—the first to provide a complete look at all of his writings—includes alphabetized entries on Rankin’s works, characters, and themes; a biography; a chronology; maps of Rebus’ Edinburgh; and an annotated bibliography. A champion of both Edinburgh and Scotland, Rankin continues after to combine engaging entertainment with socio-political commentary showing Edinburgh as a microcosm of Scotland, and Scotland as a microcosm of the world. His writing investigates questions of Scottish identity, British history, masculinity, and contemporary culture while providing mystery readers with complex, suspenseful plots, realistic character development, and a unique mix of American hard-boiled and procedural styles with Scottish dialects and sensibilities.

About the Author(s)

Erin E. MacDonald is a professor of English at Fanshawe College’s School of Language and Liberal Studies in London, Ontario. She published a literary companion book on Ed McBain and is writing one on Ian Rankin. Her articles have appeared in the Journal of American and Comparative Cultures and in Clues.

Series Editor Elizabeth Foxwell, an Agatha Award winner, is managing editor of Clues: A Journal of Detection.

Bibliographic Details

Erin E. MacDonald

Series Editor Elizabeth Foxwell

Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 20 photos, glossary, appendices, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2020
pISBN: 978-0-7864-7188-1
eISBN: 978-1-4766-3863-8
Imprint: McFarland
Series: McFarland Companions to Mystery Fiction

Book Reviews & Awards

Reviews of the Series: “The McFarland Companion series…has been consistently excellent, both in its choice of subjects and its quality of scholarship and writing”—Mystery Scene.