The Unanimous Champions of College Football, 1869–2019

Not Yet Published


New 2022 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9781476683553 Categories: ,

About the Book

In the 150 years of college football history, the national championship has been decided by unanimous vote only 33 times. This book analyzes the various methods of selecting these champions and what made the teams special. Drawing on archives and early published works, a firsthand description of the 1869 inaugural game between Princeton and Rutgers is provided, along with details of how these earliest teams were managed. The contributions and innovations of Walter Camp, the “Father of Football,” are explored, as is the evolution of the game itself. Each unanimous season since the turn of the 20th century—from Yale in 1900 to LSU in 2019—is covered in detail, with a brief history of each school’s football program. The question “is there a best ever team” is explored.

About the Author(s)

Robert J. Reid, a former research technician in biology, lives in Syracuse, New York.

Bibliographic Details

Robert J. Reid
Bibliographic Info: ca. 15 photos, appendices, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2021
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8355-3
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4265-9
Imprint: McFarland