Television’s Outlander

A Companion, Seasons 1–5


In stock

About the Book

Over its five seasons on the air, the televised series Outlander has combined romance, adventure, history, and time travel into a classic saga of love, war, and the ties that bind family together. After surviving the 1746 uprising of the Scottish Highlanders, the intrigue-ridden Paris of Charles Stuart, and a sea voyage across the Caribbean, Claire and Jamie Fraser finally settle in the mountains of North Carolina. There, they build a community of immigrant farmers who continue to struggle for justice, democracy, and independence from British colonialism. This companion volume offers detailed information on more than 125 topics including characters, themes, places, events, actors, herbalism, and historical chronology. For fans and scholars alike, it separates fact from fiction and aids in understanding the effects of the 1746 Jacobite uprising on the formation of the United States.

About the Author(s)

Mary Ellen Snodgrass is an award-winning author of English and Latin textbooks and reference works for 35 years. She taught at Hickory High School and Lenoir Rhyne University in North Carolina for 23 years. Her writing focuses on women’s and world literature and history and general research topics, including epidemics, the history of money, clothing, food, and dance. She lives in Hickory, North Carolina.

Bibliographic Details

Mary Ellen Snodgrass

Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 299
Bibliographic Info: 9 photos, glossary, appendices, chronology, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2021
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8299-0
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4269-7
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vi
Preface 1
Introduction 3
The Companion 7
Glossary 249
A Guide to Herbalism 259
A Guide to Place Names 263
A Guide to Outlander Aphorisms 267
Historical Chronology 269
Bibliography 273
Index 283