Ngaio Marsh

A Companion to the Mystery Fiction

Not Yet Published


New 2019 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

About the Book

Considered one of the “Queens of Crime”—along with such greats as Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers and Margery Allingham—Ngaio Marsh (1895–1982) was a gifted writer and a celebrated author of classic British detective fiction, as well as a successful theater director. Best known for the 32 detective novels she published between 1934 and 1982, she was appointed to the Order of the British Empire in 1966. Based on years of original research by the curator of the Ngaio Marsh House in Christchurch, New Zealand, this book explores the fascinating literary world of Dame Ngaio.

About the Author(s)

Bruce Harding is the curator of the Ngaio Marsh House in New Zealand and a senior fellow in the English department at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch.
Series Editor Elizabeth Foxwell, an Agatha Award winner, is managing editor of Clues: A Journal of Detection.

Bibliographic Details

Bruce Harding. Series Editor Elizabeth Foxwell
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Bibliographic Info: photos, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2019
pISBN: 978-0-7864-6032-8
eISBN: 978-1-4766-3719-8
Imprint: McFarland
Series: McFarland Companions to Mystery Fiction

Book Reviews & Awards

Reviews of the Series: “The McFarland Companion series…has been consistently excellent, both in its choice of subjects and its quality of scholarship and writing”—Mystery Scene.