World Series ’48

The Cleveland Indians and Boston Braves in Six Games

Not Yet Published


New 2022 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

SKU: 9781476689906 Categories: ,

About the Book

The 1948 World Series gave fans an unusual showdown—neither of the contestants had seen the Fall Classic for a generation. The Cleveland Indians had last won the American League pennant in 1920. The Boston Braves had not been atop the National League since 1914. Both teams featured excellent pitching. Boston’s aces were Warren Spahn and Johnny Sain. Cleveland had stalwarts of the mound Bob Feller and Bob Lemon, and surprise knuckleball phenom Gene Bearden. Despite being prohibitive favorites, Cleveland battled through six hard-fought games for the championship. This book recounts every at-bat of the 1948 Series, along with key moments of the regular season, including the antics of colorful Indians’ owner Bill Veeck and a near fatality on the diamond.

About the Author(s)

John G. Robertson is a private tutor and sports historian who lives in Cambridge, Ontario. He is the author of numerous books on baseball, hockey and boxing history.
Carl T. Madden operates an escape room in Brantford, Ontario, Canada.

Bibliographic Details

John G. Robertson and Carl T. Madden
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 25 photos, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2022
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8990-6
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4783-8
Imprint: McFarland