Women Writing Crime Fiction, 1860–1880

Fourteen American, British and Australian Authors


In stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

About the Book

Arthur Conan Doyle has long been considered the greatest writer of crime fiction, and the gender bias of the genre has foregrounded William Godwin, Edgar Allan Poe, Wilkie Collins, Émile Gaboriau and Fergus Hume. But earlier and significant contributions were being made by women in Britain, the United States and Australia between 1860 and 1880, a period that was central to the development of the genre.
This work focuses on women writers of this genre and these years, including Catherine Crowe, Caroline Clive, Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Mrs. Henry (Ellen) Wood, Harriet Prescott Spofford, Louisa May Alcott, Metta Victoria Fuller Victor, Anna Katharine Green, Céleste de Chabrillan, “Oliné Keese” (Caroline Woolmer Leakey), Eliza Winstanley, Ellen Davitt, and Mary Helena Fortune—innovators who set a high standard for women writers to follow.

About the Author(s)

Kate Watson writes about women’s writing, the nineteenth century, gender, and crime fiction. She lives in the United Kingdom.

Bibliographic Details

Kate Watson
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 260
Bibliographic Info: notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2012
pISBN: 978-0-7864-6782-2
eISBN: 978-0-7864-9117-9
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      viii

Preface      1

Introduction: Transformation, Transmission and Transportation      3


Introduction      15

Catherine Crowe (1790–1872)      20

Caroline Clive (1810–1873)      22

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell (1801–1865)      38

Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1835–1915)      43

Mrs. Henry (Ellen) Wood (1814–1887)      59



Introduction      68

Harriet Prescott Spofford (1835–1921)      79

Louisa May Alcott (1832–1888)      85

Metta Victoria Fuller Victor (1831–1885)      99

Anna Katharine Green (1846–1935)      118


Introduction      132

Céleste de Chabrillan (1824–1909)      151

Caroline Woolmer Leakey (Oliné Keese) (1827–1881)      153

Eliza Winstanley (1818–1882)      157

Ellen Davitt (c. 1812–1879)      158

Mary Helena Fortune (c. 1833–c. 1909/10)      172

Chapter Notes      191

Bibliography      222

Index      245

Book Reviews & Awards

“Watson’s work is well organized and compellingly argued…an important contribution to the field”—Modern Language Review.