Women in the Horror Films of Vincent Price


In stock

About the Book

Many of the key films in the career of horror icon Vincent Price (1911–1993) contain commentaries both obvious and subtle on the role of women, not only in the context of the times in which the films were created, but also during the historical periods depicted in the storylines. This examination of Price’s horror films focuses on how the principal female characters—portrayed by such notable actresses as Barbara Steele, Hazel Court and Diana Rigg, to name but a few—are simultaneously villains, victims and objects of veneration. Also considered are issues of gender and sexuality as addressed in Vincent Price’s most memorable movies.
Included are dozens of rare production stills and a selected filmography that provides significant background information on the films cited.

About the Author(s)

Jonathan Malcolm Lampley is a prolific contributor to many popular-culture periodicals and publications.

Bibliographic Details

Jonathan Malcolm Lampley
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 212
Bibliographic Info: 49 photos, filmography, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2011
pISBN: 978-0-7864-3678-1
eISBN: 978-0-7864-5749-6
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      ix

Foreword by Caroline Munro      1

Introduction—Welcome to My Nightmare: Vincent Price Considered      3

1. Those Icy Eyes: Shock and Dragonwyck (1946)      15

2. That Look of Horror: House of Wax (1953)      22

3. Brain Says Strange Things Now: The Fly (1958) and Return of the Fly (1959)      28

4. Arsenic on the Rocks: House on Haunted Hill (1958) and The Tingler (1959)      35

5. A History of Savage Degradations: House of Usher (1960)      45

6. The Razor Edge of Destiny: Pit and the Pendulum (1961)      54

7. Dedicated to Your Destruction: Tales of Terror (1962)      63

8. Nevermore: The Raven and The Comedy of Terrors (1963)      73

9. Evil Things in Robes of Sorrow: The Haunted Palace (1963)      84

10. An Evil Mockery of Beauty: Twice-Told Tales (1963)      90

11. A Heartbeat Away from Hell: The Last Man on Earth (1964)      95

12. The Beauties of Terror: The Masque of the Red Death (1964)      103

13. Nor Lie in Death Forever: The Tomb of Ligeia (1965)      111

14. The Tragedy, “Man”: The Conqueror Worm (1968) and the Reeves Legacy      121

15. Triple Distilled Horror: Scream and Scream Again (1970)      139

16. A Strange Presence Even in Death: The Abominable Dr. Phibes (1971) and Dr. Phibes Rises Again! (1972)      147

17. The Temerity to Rewrite Shakespeare: Theater of Blood (1973)      162

18. The Coffin of Time: Madhouse (1974)      170

19. A Hideous Throng: Miscellaneous AIP Titles      177

Conclusion—A Play of Hopes and Fears: Final Thoughts      184

Filmography      191

Works Cited      195

Index      199