United States Marine Corps Medal of Honor Recipients

A Comprehensive Registry, Including U.S. Navy Medical Personnel Honored for Serving Marines in Combat


In stock

SKU: 9780786460847 Categories: ,

About the Book

The Medal of Honor is considered the ultimate sign of courage and devotion above and beyond the call of duty. This reference book (a repeat of an edition first published by McFarland in 2005) presents all 296 United States Marines (and one Coast Guardsman, 21 United States Navy corpsmen and doctors and a chaplain, who served Marines in combat) who were awarded the Medal of Honor from 1861 to May 2003. Such men as Sergeant Richard Binder, whose good command led to the planting of a flag on rebel fortifications at Fort Fisher in 1865, and Lance Corporal Kenneth L. Worley, who in 1968 sacrificed himself to save his comrades from a grenade in Vietnam are honored.
A preface traces the evolution of the medal, its rewards, and its requirements. Each of the 318 entries (arranged within periods) includes biographical information, the actions that earned the award, and other relevant details. Appendices list the numbers of winners born in and accredited to each state or nation, a chronology of awards, and a breakdown of statistics showing the numbers of Marines killed earning the Medal of Honor in each war.

About the Author(s)

The late George B. Clark, military historian and former Marine, wrote about World War I, World War II, and the United States Marine Corps. He lived in Pike, New Hampshire.

Bibliographic Details

Edited by George B. Clark
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 208
Bibliographic Info: 205 photos, appendices, chronology, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2011 [2005]
pISBN: 978-0-7864-6084-7
eISBN: 978-1-4766-0720-7
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Preface      1

Civil War: 1861–1865      5

Korean Campaign: 1871      8

Interim Period: 1872–1898      9

War with Spain: 1898      9

Samoa and the Philippine Insurrection: 1899–1906      12

China Relief Expedition (The Boxer Rebellion): 1900      15

Interim Period: 1901      20

Vera Cruz: 1914      21

Haitian Campaign: 1915      25

Dominican Campaign: 1916–1917      27

World War I: 1918      29

Haitian Campaign: 1919      36

Second Nicaraguan Campaign: 1927–1932      37

Interim Period: 1921      39

World War II: 1941–1945      39

Korea: 1950–1953      102

Vietnam: 1964–1973      136

Appendix A: Origins of Recipients      185

Appendix B: Numbers of Awards      186

Appendix C: Chronology of Awards      188

Bibliography      193

Index      197

Book Reviews & Awards