The Yankees in the Early 1960s


In stock

SKU: 9780786429967 Categories: , ,

About the Book

This is a history of the New York Yankees over a decade which saw them at the top of the American League and at the bottom. Based upon thorough background research and interviews with over 100 former players, the book covers the major stories of the period as well as some not seen elsewhere. The seventh games of the 1960 and 1962 World Series are described in detail, replete with the remembrances of many of the participants. The infamous Phil Linz harmonica incident, the fruitless search for another Mickey Mantle and the surprising emergence of Mel Stottlemyre are some of the stories that make the early ’60s such a fascinating era in Yankee lore.

About the Author(s)

William J. Ryczek is a finance professional from Wallingford, Connecticut, who writes about early baseball, football, the Yankees, and the Mets.

Bibliographic Details

William J. Ryczek
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 267
Bibliographic Info: 11 photos, appendix, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2008
pISBN: 978-0-7864-2996-7
eISBN: 978-1-4766-1673-5
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      vii

Introduction      1

1. The World Turned Upside Down      3

2. Casey’s Last Hurrah: The 1960 Season      10

3. A Hanging, Harry High School Slider: The 1960 World Series      31

4. The Major Takes Command: The 1961 Season (Part I)      44

5. The Bootstrappers—Looie, Shelly and Blanch: The 1961 Season (Part II)      65

6. Chasing the Babe: The 1961 Season (Part III)      79

7. Finishing the Job: The 1961 World Series      87

8. He Was Hector’s Hands and Mickey’s Legs: The 1962 Season      92

9. Ralph’s Redemption: The 1962 World Series      108

10. The Pride of the Yankees      123

11. I Shot the Sheriff: The 1963 Season      135

12. Too Much Pitching: The 1963 World Series      145

13. The Cowboy, the Kid and Mary’s Little Lamb: The 1964 Season      150

14. Yogi’s Last Hurrah: The 1964 World Series      172

15. Yogi and Johnny      183

16. The End of an Era: The 1965 Season      188

17. The Search for the Next Mantle      208

18. Sinking to the Depths: The 1966 Season      217

19. The Good Old Days      234

Appendix: In Their Own Words      245

Bibliography      249

Index      251