The Pacific Coast League

A Statistical History, 1903–1957


In stock

SKU: 9780786400454 Categories: , ,

About the Book

The Pacific Coast League enjoyed a reputation as one of the premier minor leagues in organized baseball. Joe DiMaggio, Ted Williams, Lefty Gomez, the Waner brothers and Ernie Lombardi were among the future Hall of Famers who played in its cozy parks. Legendary minor leaguers such as Smead Jolley, Buzz Arlett, Lefty O’Doul and Frank Shellenback made their marks in the PCL.
This reference work is a season-by-season guide to the glory days of the PCL. It includes a listing of starters and primary reserves for all teams from 1903 through 1957, as well as playoff results, managerial records, and statistical leaders for each season. Complete PCL records for over 500 of the circuit’s most notable players are also provided.

About the Author(s)

Dennis Snelling is a member of the Society for American Baseball Research and the Pacific Coast League Historical Society. He lives in Rocklin, California. (Visit

Bibliographic Details

Dennis Snelling
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 406
Bibliographic Info: tables
Copyright Date: 1995
pISBN: 978-0-7864-0045-4
Imprint: McFarland

Book Reviews & Awards

“gives a season by season guide of the glory days of the PCL”—The SABR Bulletin; “much love and care were put into the book”—ARBA; “strongly recommended…a great source for quick information about the league and its players”—Pacific Coast League Potpourri; “a valuable resource for serious researchers…includes team rosters, individual statistics and annual standings”—Dugout; “a year-by-year listing of team and individual [statistics]”—USA Today Sports Weekly.