The Edmonton Oilers


In stock

SKU: 9780786412525 Categories: ,

About the Book

The Edmonton Oilers have been one of the most successful and exciting hockey teams during the last twenty years. Led in their glory days by Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Paul Coffey, Jari Kurri, Glenn Anderson, and Grant Fuhr, it is not surprising that the Oilers won five Stanley Cups in seven years.
This work is a history of the Edmonton Oilers from 1979, the year the team joined the National Hockey League, through the 2000-2001 season. The first part details each of the Oilers’ seasons and provides complete regular and postseason scoring and goal-tending statistics for each season. The second part presents an alphabetical listing of every player to wear an Oilers uniform and his statistics while playing for the team. There are also sections on the Oilers’ seven years in the World Hockey Association before joining the NHL, team transactions, drafts, player awards, team milestones and records, summaries of all five of the Stanley Cup–winning games, and the Sky Reach Center, home of the Oilers.

About the Author(s)

Sports historian K. Michael Gaschnitz is an avid fitness enthusiast and cyclist. He is also the author of Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Sports (2007) and Professional Sports Statistics (1997, “monumental”—Sports Collectors Digest; “comprehensive”—ARBA; “excellent”—Choice). He lives in Spruce Grove, Alberta.

Bibliographic Details

K. Michael Gaschnitz
Format: softcover (8.5 x 11)
Pages: 287
Bibliographic Info: photos, tables, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2003
pISBN: 978-0-7864-1252-5
eISBN: 978-0-7864-5546-1
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Preface     1
Part One: Season Summaries and Statistics     3
Part Two: The Players     137
Part Three: Appendices     217
Selected Bibliography     273
Index     275