The Cubs and the A’s of 1910

One Dynasty Ends, Another Begins


In stock

SKU: 9781476664361 Categories: , ,

About the Book

 The Cubs were at the end of the best five-season run of any team in history. The team featured Three Finger Brown, the famed double play combination of Tinker to Evers to Chance, and the other players who together won 530 games in the 1906–1910 seasons. They won four National League pennants and were the first team to win consecutive World Series, in 1907 and 1908. After winning 104 games in 1909 and finishing second in the League, the Cubs came back in 1910 to win the pennant again—they seemed unstoppable.
Going into the World Series, the Cubs—favored to win—were at the end of a great run and the Philadelphia A’s were at the start of one. This book tells the story of the changing of the guard in baseball in 1910, and how these two great teams assembled. The narrative takes in the history of early 20th century baseball, featuring men like Ben Shibe, Connie Mack, Eddie Collins, Frank Baker, Chief Bender, and many others.

About the Author(s)

Richard Bressler is a retired financial professional and has written two books on medieval history and a sports book. He lives in Champaign, Illinois.

Bibliographic Details

Richard Bressler
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 204
Bibliographic Info: 26 photos, appendices, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2016
pISBN: 978-1-4766-6436-1
eISBN: 978-1-4766-2455-6
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vi

Preface 1

Introduction 2

1. The A’s 7

2. The Cubs 27

3. Spring Training 40

4. April–May 53

5. June 66

6. July 84

7. August 113

8. September–October 132

9. The World Series 147

Epilogue 163

Appendix 1: Hitting and Pitching Statistics 177

Appendix 2: World Series Statistics 182

Chapter Notes 185

Bibliography 191

Index 193