The Crime World of Michael Connelly

A Study of His Works and Their Adaptations


In stock

About the Book

Since his first novel in 1992, Michael Connelly has become one of America’s most popular and critically acclaimed crime writers. He is best known as the author of a long-running series featuring LAPD homicide detective Harry Bosch, a compelling figure in contemporary crime fiction. He also created several additional series featuring a criminal defense attorney (Mickey Haller, known as the Lincoln Lawyer), an FBI profiler (Terry McCaleb), a newspaper reporter (Jack McEvoy), and an LAPD policewoman (Renée Ballard) who works the night shift. When he began incorporating all his characters into the Bosch megaseries, he expanded the notion of what a crime series can accomplish. This work takes an in-depth look at all of Connelly’s work, including the 34 novels that comprise the Bosch megaseries, the film adaptations of his books, the popular “Bosch” TV series, and his standalone novels, short stories and podcasts. It includes chapters on his novelistic artistry and his portraits of Los Angeles and its police department.

About the Author(s)

David Geherin, a professor emeritus of English at Eastern Michigan University, is the author of ten books on crime fiction, two of which were finalists for the Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Ypsilanti, Michigan.

Bibliographic Details

David Geherin

Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 219
Bibliographic Info: bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2022
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8701-8
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4779-1
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Preface 1
Introduction: Biography 3
1—Harry Bosch and the Bosch Megaseries 9
2—The Novels 17
3—Standalone Novels, Short Stories, and Journalism 161
4—Movies, Television, and Podcasts 173
5—Artistry: Turning Fact into Fiction 184
6—The Portrait of L.A. and the LAPD 189
Conclusion: Connelly’s Recipe for Success 197
Bibliography 201
Index 207

Book Reviews & Awards

Finalist, Edgar Allan Poe Award—Mystery Writers of America