The American Football League

A Year-by-Year History, 1960–1969


In stock

SKU: 9780786403998 Categories: ,

About the Book

Unable to buy into an existing team and rebuffed by National Football League owners who had no desire to expand, 27-year-old Lamar Hunt, the son of Texas billionaire H.L. Hunt, formed the American Football League in 1959. He placed his team in Dallas, called them the Texans, and invited other young entrepreneurs to join him. The seven men who did called themselves members of the “Foolish Club,” but on September 9, 1960, the AFL made its regular season debut and went on to change the face of football forever.
Unlike the NFL, the American Football League featured wide open offenses and innovative coaching strategies, capturing a new generation of fans dedicated to the league and its players. The AFL aggressively pursued college stars—Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon in its inaugural season and Joe Namath in 1965. The eight teams signed a collective television agreement that split the money equally among the franchises, thus providing far more stability and balance than earlier start-up leagues. Based on interviews with owners, coaches, players, scouts, broadcasters and writers from the era, this is a colorful account of the AFL and its place in sports history.

About the Author(s)

Ed Gruver, former sportswriter for the Daily News, lives in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Bibliographic Details

Ed Gruver
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 293
Bibliographic Info: photos, diagrams, appendix, index
Copyright Date: 1997
pISBN: 978-0-7864-0399-8
eISBN: 978-0-7864-8660-1
Imprint: McFarland