The 1958 Baltimore Colts

Profiles of the NFL’s First Sudden Death Champions

Not Yet Published



Available on backorder

SKU: 9781476671451 Categories: ,

About the Book

The 1958 Baltimore Colts were one of the greatest teams in pro football history. Owned by the controversial Carroll Rosenbloom and led by head coach Weeb Ewbank and six future Hall of Fame players—Johnny Unitas, Raymond Berry, Lenny Moore, Jim Parker, Art Donovan and Gino Marchetti—they won the NFL title that season, defeating the New York Giants in the first sudden death championship game in NFL history, laying the foundation for the ultra-popular spectacle the game would become with the American public.
They were a talented group of players. Many had been rejected or underappreciated at various points in their careers though they were loved and respected by the blue collar fans of Baltimore. This book tells the complete story of the ’58 Colts and the Charm City’s love affair with the team.

About the Author(s)

Retired attorney George Bozeka is the assistant executive director and assistant publications director of the Professional Football Researchers Association. The author of numerous articles in the association’s publication The Coffin Corner, he was the recipient of the PFRA’s Bob Carroll Memorial Writing Award in 2011. He lives in Akron, Ohio.

Bibliographic Details

Edited by George Bozeka
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 50 photos, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2018
pISBN: 978-1-4766-7145-1
eISBN: 978-1-4766-3455-5
Imprint: McFarland
Series: Great Teams in Pro Football History