The 1923 New York Yankees

A History of Their First World Championship Season


In stock

SKU: 9780786444045 Categories: , ,

About the Book

The 1923 Yankees started the dynasty. With stars like Babe Ruth, Wally Pipp, Joe Dugan and Bob Meusel, they won the pennant by 16 games before claiming the franchise’s first World Series title. Five Yankee pitchers won 16 games that year, led by Sam Jones (21–8), and the team finally defeated McGraw’s Giants after losing to them in the Series two years in a row. This book covers that first Yankees championship team in great detail, taking the reader through the entire season, game-by-game.

About the Author(s)

Ronald A. Mayer is the author of several books on baseball history. He is retired and lives in East Hanover, New Jersey.

Bibliographic Details

Ronald A. Mayer
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 228
Bibliographic Info: 24 photos, appendices, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2010
pISBN: 978-0-7864-4404-5
eISBN: 978-0-7864-5805-9
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      vi
Preface      1

1. Ruppert and Huston Buy the Yankees      5
2. Opening Day      19
3. Ruppert Buys Out Huston      47
4. Out in Front by Nine      70
5. Yankee Pitching Dominates      95
6. Ruth Wields a Hot Bat      122
7. Third Straight Pennant      148
8. First World Series Championship      172

Appendix A: American League Final Standings      195
Appendix B: New York Yankees Game-by-Game Won/Lost Record      196
Appendix C: New York Yankees Final Individual Statistics/Roster      201
Appendix D: Babe Ruth’s 1923 Home Runs vs. Opposition      203
Appendix E: Wally Pipp’s 21-Game Hitting Streak      205
Appendix F: Lou Gehrig’s First Season      206
Appendix G: New York Yankees World Series Record, 1921–2009      207
Chapter Notes      209
Bibliography      213
Index      217