My Most-Wanted Marijuana Mom

Growing Up in a Smuggling Family


In stock

About the Book

“You are about to enter a world of drug smuggling, drug greed, and drug murder.” With those words, the West Palm Beach assistant DA began the 1986 murder trial of Judy “Haas” McNelis. The only woman on the U.S. Federal Marshal’s 15 Most-Wanted List, she gained infamy as head of the “Haas Organization,” a reputed $267 million per year marijuana empire. But before her jet-set lifestyle as a drug “queen-pin,” Haas was simply a divorcée with two young children and a penchant for growing pot. David McNelis’ candid memoir recounts his life with a brash, free-spirited mother determined to achieve success in the male-dominated world of international narcotics smuggling. A studious kid striving for normalcy, McNelis is thrust into an extraordinary adventure where dealers, smugglers, daredevil pilots, federal agents, hitmen, and even an accused KGB spy all become part of “normal” life.

About the Author(s)

Since his youth as a self-described “bookish Eagle Scout,” David Michael McNelis, author and avid outdoorsman, has been a professional musician, inventor, ship’s captain, world traveler, and teacher. He lives in Chandler, Arizona.

Bibliographic Details

David Michael McNelis

Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 214
Bibliographic Info: 20 photos, index
Copyright Date: 2018
pISBN: 978-1-4766-7308-0
eISBN: 978-1-4766-3311-4
Imprint: Exposit Books

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

1. Saturday Night in Buckeye 5

2. Kindergarten for Grownups 11

3. El Loco 19

4. South of the Border 30

5. Florida 40

6. The Problem with Sunflowers 51

7. Jammin’ in Jamaica 62

8. “We jammin’, yah?” 73

9. A Parallel Universe 83

10. High Times 88

11. Loose Lips Sink Ships 103

12. Take Down 108

13. Escape 119

14. Cortez 131

15. Coming Up for Air 144

16. Take Down—Part Deux 160

17. Pawn Sacrifice 170

18. A Fight to the Death 176

19. The Hail Mary 187

20. After the Gold Rush 196

21. Seedlings 200

Index 205

Ebook Availability