Margaret O’Brien

A Career Chronicle and Biography


In stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9780786421558 Categories: ,

About the Book

Among Hollywood’s child stars are some talented children, normal and pleasant who find fame in film. Margaret O’Brien is one; her career began in 1941. The fresh-faced moppet quickly became a sensation and won the 1944 Academy Award for Outstanding Child Actress. As Adele in Jane Eyre (1944) and Beth in Little Women (1949), Margaret endeared herself to millions. Despite the strain of growing up on screen, O’Brien continues to perform today.
This reference work details O’Brien’s remarkable and varied career on stage, screen, and television: it includes a biography and a complete listing of all her film, radio, stage, and television appearances, as well as references to her in magazines and newspapers. Each entry includes complete production information, as well as reviews and behind-the-scenes commentary. Included are forewords by Robert Young and O’Brien herself, who provided much of the information in this book. Dozens of photos, including many from O’Brien’s personal collection, illustrate the text and show the varied stages of a career that includes both famous roles and famous friendships.

About the Author(s)

Allan R. Ellenberger is the author of numerous books about the cinema. He has written for such publications as Classic Images and Films of the Golden Age. He lives in Hollywood, California.

Bibliographic Details

Allan R. Ellenberger
Forewords by Robert Young ; and Margaret O’Brien
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 253
Bibliographic Info: 90 photos, references, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2004 [2000]
pISBN: 978-0-7864-2155-8
eISBN: 978-1-4766-0401-5
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      ix

Foreword by Robert Young      xi

Foreword by Margaret O’Brien      xiii

Introduction      1

Margaret O’Brien—Her Journey      5

The Films

Babes on Broadway (1941)      48

Journey for Margaret (1942)      51

Dr. Gillespie’s Criminal Case (1943)      57

Thousands Cheer (1943)      63

Madame Curie (1943)      67

You, John Jones (1943)      70

Lost Angel (1944)      73

Jane Eyre (1944)      80

The Canterville Ghost (1944)      85

Music for Millions (1944)      91

Meet Me in St. Louis (1944)      97

Our Vines Have Tender Grapes (1945)      108

Victory in Europe (1945)      114

Bad Bascomb (1946)      115

Three Wise Fools (1946)      121

The Unfinished Dance (1947)      127

Tenth Avenue Angel (1948)      134

Big City (1948)      140

Little Women (1949)      146

The Secret Garden (1949)      153

Her First Romance (1951)      158

Girls Hand in Hand (1953)      163

Glory (1956)      167

Heller in Pink Tights (1960)      173

Diabolic Wedding (1972)      177

Annabelle Lee (1972)      179

Amy (1981)      180

Sunset After Dark (1996)      182

Hollywood Mortuary (1999)      187

Radio      191

Theater      195

Television      199

Magazine References      209

Newspaper References      211

End Notes      215

Bibliography      223

Index      227

Book Reviews & Awards

“the detailed entries on each production provide complete cast and technical credits”—Classic Images; “a complete career chronology…[will] keep her fans enraptured”—Film Review; “liberally sprinkled with black-and-white photographs”—Reference Reviews.