Jackson, Crockett and Houston on the American Frontier

From Fort Mims to the Alamo, 1813–1836


In stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 9781476665870 Categories: , , , ,

About the Book

The 1813 storming of Fort Mims by Creek Indians brought to light the careers of Andrew Jackson, David Crockett and Sam Houston. All three fought the Creeks and each would have his part to play two decades later when the Alamo was stormed during the fight for Texan independence from Mexico.
President Jackson was the first head of state to recognize the fledgling Republic of Texas. Colonel Crockett would be enshrined as a folk hero for his stand at the Alamo. General Houston won Texan independence at San Jacinto in 1836.
This book tells the stories of the two landmark battles—at Fort Mims and the Alamo—and the interwoven lives of Jackson, Crockett and Houston, three of the most fascinating men in American history.

About the Author(s)

Paul Williams has worked in the television and film industries as a writer, producer and director. He lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Bibliographic Details

Paul Williams
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 264
Bibliographic Info: 26 photos, 8 maps, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2016
pISBN: 978-1-4766-6587-0
eISBN: 978-1-4766-2521-8
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Preface and Acknowledgments 1

Prologue: Burnt Corn Creek 5

1. We Are Perfectly Tranquil Here 9

2. Yelling and Screaming Like Perfect Demons 16

3. The Horror of the Scene 25

4. The Doleful Sound from the Treetops 30

5. Let Every Shot Tell 37

6. A Rough Sort of Backwoodsman 47

7. Rattling Peals of Thunder 54

8. Unlawful and Improper 62

9. Rapine and Plunder 68

10. A Whapper of a Lie 74

11. I Will Be Governor of Tennessee 80

12. Scalping Knives and Tomahawks 86

13. Possessed with the Furies 92

14. I Had Come for Their Votes 99

15. The Bloody Deeds of Gen. Jackson 107

16. A Thousand Wild Rumors 111

17. A Wicked, Unjust Measure 116

18. A Citizen of the Cherokee Nation 123

19. Let Us Have Crockett’s March 129

20. Most Daring Outrage and Assault 136

21. I Will Go to Texas 145

22. The Claws of Thirsty, Rascally and Convict Soldiers 150

23. Damn Him, Let Him Take the Horse 155

24. The Enemy Is Closely Shut Up in Bejar 162

25. Farewell 170

26. The Key to Texas 175

27. The Enemy Are in View 183

28. War Is Raging on the Frontiers 190

29. My Orders Must Be Obeyed 196

30. A Horrible Carnage Took Place 203

31. The Flash of a Musket 212

32. Their Forlorn Situation 218

33. That Is Sam Houston’s Writing 224

34. Wisdom and Humanity Dictates 233

Chapter Notes 241

Bibliography 249

Index 253