Heart Full of Soul

Keith Relf of the Yardbirds

Not Yet Published


New 2020 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

SKU: 9781476680118 Categories: , , Tags: ,

About the Book

This is the first full-length biography of Keith Relf, frontman for the Yardbirds and one of the great tragic characters in rock history. Keith’s moody vocals and harmonica helped to define the Yardbirds’ sound on a string of innovative hit records that influenced garage rock, psychedelia, blues rock, hard rock and heavy metal. Numerous books have been written about the Yardbirds’ famous guitarists—Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page—yet Keith has remained a mysterious and elusive figure since his death by electrocution at age 33.
A deeply private person, prone to depression and poor health, Keith was ill-suited to the life of a rock star. In the years following the Yardbirds’ breakup, as the band’s guitarists became household names playing blues-based rock, Keith insisted on pursuing new musical paths, always searching for something new and trying to extend the Yardbirds’ spirit of curiosity and innovation. By the time of his death in 1976, Keith was nearly forgotten and struggling physically, emotionally and financially. More than forty years after his tragic death, this important artist’s story has finally been written and his contributions celebrated as more than just a footnote to the careers of his better-known bandmates.

About the Author(s)

New York City resident David French has written about music for Downbeat, JazzTimes, The Los Angeles Times, The Oxford American, Interview, Paste, The Boston Globe and more. He works at Lenox Hill Neighborhood House, a historic nonprofit organization, leading their efforts to create a healthier and more equitable food system.

Bibliographic Details

David French

Foreword by Alice Cooper
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 40 photos, appendix, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2020
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8011-8
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4046-4
Imprint: McFarland