Hate Crime in America, 1968–2013

A Chronology of Offenses, Legislation and Related Events


In stock

SKU: 9780786474769 Categories: , , Tag:

About the Book

Crimes motivated by prejudice date to the beginning of human history. Despite legislation addressing bias-driven offenses hate crimes continue to plague modern American society. Beginning with the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 six days later, this chronology catalogs hate crimes and the relevant statutes and amendments affecting the definition, prosecution and punishment of hate crimes within the U.S. through 2013. The introduction sketches the history of hate crimes legislation through 1968, while an appendix lists and briefly describes hate crime statutes presently in force in various states. From racial violence and attacks on gays and lesbians to the bombings of abortion clinics by “pro-life” extremists to assaults on Muslims in the wake of 9/11, this reference work lays bare an ugly but critical aspect of American history.

About the Author(s)

Michael Newton is an award-winning author of numerous books on topics ranging from cryptozoology to civil rights and organized crime. He lives in Indiana.

Bibliographic Details

Michael Newton
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 332
Bibliographic Info: appendix, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2014
pISBN: 978-0-7864-7476-9
eISBN: 978-1-4766-1746-6
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Preface  1
Introduction  3
The Chronology  19
Appendix: Hate Crime Statutes by State  297
Bibliography  305
Index  311