From the Footlights to the Tenderloin

The Tragic Life of Actress Edna Loftus

Not Yet Published


New 2024 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

SKU: 9781476694887 Categories: ,

About the Book

In her early 20s, Edna Loftus had the world at her feet. As a showgirl in England and France during the Edwardian Era, she appeared in a number of successful theater productions, regularly graced the pages of contemporary magazines, and was featured on numerous picture postcards. She hobnobbed with royalty and kept company with the creme de la creme of European society. Then fate seemingly turned on Edna. After two unsuccessful marriages (the second ending with her husband being incarcerated in an asylum), she was left alone in California, and her decline into poverty and prostitution became fodder for the newspapers which had once sung her praises. By the time of her death in her early 30s, Edna was “a pathetic figure pointed out as a bit of a curiosity because she once had been famous on two continents.”
Edna Loftus was very much a product of her times. It was not simply a matter of bad choices on Edna’s part which led to her dissolution, but also the institutionalized socio-cultural constructs of patriarchy, classism, and religious intolerance of the Edwardian Era. This biography, the first ever written about Edna, examines how these factors played into her descent from the sparkling footlights of the European theaters to the red lights of San Francisco’s infamous Tenderloin District, and, in the end, destroyed her.

About the Author(s)

David Grassé is an assistant library director in Payson, Arizona. He has previously published three books and numerous articles about Arizona Territorial history as well as several journal and newspaper articles about the Old West.

Bibliographic Details

David Grassé
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 55 photos, notes, bibliograohy, index
Copyright Date: 2024
pISBN: 978-1-4766-9488-7
eISBN: 978-1-4766-5288-7
Imprint: McFarland