Flying Adventurers

Juvenile Aviation Series Books in America, 1909–1964

Not Yet Published


New 2023 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

SKU: 9781476688787 Categories: , , ,

About the Book

Aviation books were a unique and prolific subgenre of American juvenile literature from the early to mid–20th century, drawing upon the nation’s intensifying interest. The first books of this type, Harry L. Sayler’s series Airship Boys, appeared shortly after the Wright brothers’ first successful flight in 1909. Following Charles Lindbergh’s solo flight across the Atlantic, popular series like Ted Scott and Andy Lane established the “golden age” of juvenile aviation literature.
This work examines the 375 juvenile aviation series titles published between 1909 and 1964. It weaves together several thematic threads, including the placement of aviation narratives within the context of major historical events, the technical accuracy in depictions of flying machines and the ways in which characters reflected the culture of their eras. Three appendices provide publication data for each series, a list of referenced aircraft and an annotated bibliography; there is a full index.

About the Author(s)

David K. Vaughan is a retired Air Force officer and educator. He lives in San Antonio, Texas.

Bibliographic Details

David K. Vaughan
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 50 photos, appendices, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2023
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8878-7
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4877-4
Imprint: McFarland