Domestic Programs of the American Presidents

A Critical Evaluation


In stock

SKU: 9780786431830 Categories: , , , ,

About the Book

Since the Constitution delegates presidential powers in general rather than specific terms, the domestic influence of the president has varied over time according to the nature of the person holding the office. From George Washington to George W. Bush, this volume takes an in-depth look at the domestic programs of America’s 43 presidents. Written from a non-partisan viewpoint, each chapter focuses on a single presidency, providing information, analysis, interpretation and commentary regarding the domestic program of each chief executive.

About the Author(s)

Richard B. Faber is a former teacher, government official, and Air Force officer. He lives in Des Moines, Iowa.
Nursing assistant Elizabeth A. Bedford lives in Des Moines.

Bibliographic Details

Richard B. Faber and Elizabeth A. Bedford
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 220
Bibliographic Info: notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2008
pISBN: 978-0-7864-3183-0
eISBN: 978-1-4766-0789-4
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments      vii

Foreword by Charles F. Faber      1

Introduction      3

George Washington      5

John Adams      10

Thomas Jefferson      13

James Madison      22

James Monroe      25

John Quincy Adams      33

Andrew Jackson      38

Martin Van Buren      42

William Henry Harrison      46

John Tyler      47

James K. Polk      49

Zachary Taylor      52

Millard Fillmore      55

Franklin Pierce      58

James Buchanan      65

Abraham Lincoln      68

Andrew Johnson      75

Ulysses S. Grant      78

Rutherford B. Hayes      81

James A. Garfield      84

Chester Alan Arthur      85

Grover Cleveland      87

Benjamin Harrison      90

William McKinley      95

Theodore Roosevelt      98

William Howard Taft      105

Woodrow Wilson      108

Warren G. Harding      114

Calvin Coolidge      117

Herbert Hoover      122

Franklin D. Roosevelt      127

Harry S Truman      134

Dwight D. Eisenhower      142

John F. Kennedy      146

Lyndon B. Johnson      154

Richard M. Nixon      161

Gerald R. Ford      165

Jimmy Carter      170

Ronald Reagan      173

George Herbert Walker Bush      179

William Jefferson Clinton      182

George W. Bush      186

Notes      189

Bibliography      197

Index      203