Chuckin’ Charlie Conerly and the New York Football Giants


In stock

SKU: 9781476688046 Categories: ,

About the Book

All-American quarterback Charlie Conerly’s college career was interrupted by World War II. He started at University of Mississippi in 1942, fought in the Battle of Guam in 1944, then led Ole Miss to their first conference championship in 1947. He went on to play for the New York Giants from 1948 to 1961, ultimately leading them to an NFL title.
A College Football Hall of Famer, Conerly was a professional All-Star and the lynchpin of the Giants offense at time when the team was loaded with Hall of Famers who unduly overshadowed him during his heyday. New York won repeat divisional crowns under the soft-spoken Conerly and participated in the suspenseful, first-ever sudden death NFL title game in 1958. This first-ever full-length biography chronicles his life and career in detail.

About the Author(s)

Lew Freedman is a long-time, prize-winning journalist for such newspapers as the Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Tribune, Anchorage Daily News and Wyoming’s Cody Enterprise. Specializing in sports and the outdoors, he has written more than 100 books. He lives in Columbus, Indiana.

Bibliographic Details

Lew Freedman
Format: softcover (6 x 9)
Pages: 231
Bibliographic Info: 21 photos, notes, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2023
pISBN: 978-1-4766-8804-6
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4962-7
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments v
Preface 1
Introduction 3
Chapter 1. The Best Day of All 7
Chapter 2. Mississippi Roots 13
Chapter 3. Ole Miss 20
Chapter 4. War and Ole Miss II 29
Chapter 5. Meeting the Mrs. 38
Chapter 6. From Ole Miss to the Big Apple 46
Chapter 7. Rookie Year 54
Chapter 8. New York, New York 61
Chapter 9. Loving the Spotlight 68
Chapter 10. Giants Become Winners 75
Chapter 11. Keeping It Going 83
Chapter 12. The Old Man 90
Chapter 13. 1953: The Worst Year 99
Chapter 14. New Look Giants 107
Chapter 15. The New Regime 113
Chapter 16. Charlie and Perian 122
Chapter 17. Not Quite There 128
Chapter 18. Their Turn 138
Chapter 19. World Champs 148
Chapter 20. Trying to Do It Again 154
Chapter 21. Redemption Tour 161
Chapter 22. Greatest Game 170
Chapter 23. 1959: Giants–Colts Again 179
Chapter 24. The 1960s 188
Epilogue: Retirement 194
Chapter Notes 205
Bibliography 213
Index 215