Characters and Plots in the Fiction of James M. Cain


In stock

SKU: 9780786459698 Categories: , ,

About the Book

A pioneer in “hard-boiled fiction,” James Mallahan Cain achieved fame with his first novel, The Postman Always Rings Twice. His Double Indemnity and Mildred Pierce soon followed, as did successful movie versions of all three novels. With his seventeen other novels and numerous short stories, Cain remains one of the most influential writers of the twentieth century. This reference guide to Cain’s oeuvre offers a chronology detailing his life as reporter, Hollywood scenarist and best-selling author. Entries for his fiction follow, with plot synopses, identification of more than 900 characters, and critical commentaries, many citing works for further reading. An introduction to Cain’s fiction and a resource for scholars and aficionados, this compendium provides the most thorough exploration to date of this major American writer.

About the Author(s)

Robert L. Gale is professor emeritus of American literature at the University of Pittsburgh and the author of numerous books and critical articles.

Bibliographic Details

Robert L. Gale
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 252
Bibliographic Info: chronology, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2011
pISBN: 978-0-7864-5969-8
eISBN: 978-0-7864-8825-4
Imprint: McFarland

Table of Contents

Preface      1
Chronology      5


Bibliography      233
Index      236