The 1958 Baltimore Colts

Profiles of the NFL’s First Sudden Death Champions


In stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9781476671451 Categories: ,

About the Book

The 1958 Baltimore Colts were one of the greatest teams ever in professional football. Owned by the controversial Carroll Rosenbloom and led by head coach Weeb Ewbank and six future Hall of Fame players—Johnny Unitas, Raymond Berry, Lenny Moore, Jim Parker, Art Donovan and Gino Marchetti—they won the NFL title that season, defeating the New York Giants in the first sudden death championship game in NFL history. The Colts laid the foundation for the ultra-popular spectacle football would become with the American public.
They were a talented group of players. Many had been rejected or underappreciated at various points in their careers though they were loved and respected by the blue collar fans of Baltimore. This book tells the complete story of the ‘58 Colts and the city’s love affair with the team.

About the Author(s)

Retired attorney George Bozeka is the assistant executive director and assistant publications director of the Professional Football Researchers Association. He has written numerous articles in the association’s publication The Coffin Corner and was the recipient of the PFRA’s Bob Carroll Memorial Writing Award in 2011. He lives in Akron, Ohio.

Bibliographic Details

Edited by George Bozeka
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Pages: 340
Bibliographic Info: 50 photos, notes, bibliographies, index
Copyright Date: 2018
pISBN: 978-1-4766-7145-1
eISBN: 978-1-4766-3455-5
Imprint: McFarland
Series: Great Teams in Pro Football History

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments v
Preface (George Bozeka) 1
Part 1: The City and the Organization
Baltimore in the Fifties (Patrick Gallivan) 5
Owner Carroll Rosenbloom (George Bozeka) 13
Head Coach Weeb Ewbank (Lee Elder) 19
Assistant Coaches (John W. Lesko, Bert Gambini) 26
Building the 1958 Colts (Matthew Keddie) 34
The 1958 Draft (Bert Gambini) 39
Part 2: The 1958 Season
1958 Training Camp and Preseason (Mark L. Ford) 49
1958 Regular Season Game Summaries (Rich
Shmelter, Rupert Patrick and Simon Herrera) 59
1958 NFL Championship Game (Rupert Patrick) 95
Final 1958 NFL Standings 102
1958 Colts Statistics (Rupert Patrick) 102
1958 Colts Superlatives (Rupert Patrick) 104
Part 3: The Team
Alan Ameche (Rick Schabowski) 109
Raymond Berry (John Vorperian) 117
Ordell Brasse (Jay Zahn) 125
Ray Brown (Rick Gonsalves) 129
Jack Call (David Standish) 132
Milt Davis (Nick Ritzmann) 135
Art DeCarlo (Rick Schabowski) 139
Art Donovan (Neal Golden) 142
L.G. Dupre (Greg Selber) 145
Dick Horn, Avatus Stone and Gary Kerkorian (Mark L. Ford) 148
Don Joyce (Neal Golden) 156
Ray Krouse (Bill Lambert) 159
Gene Lipscomb (George Bozeka) 163
Lenny Lyles (Ed Gruver) 169
Gino Marchetti (Neal Golden) 175
Lenny Moore (Rich Shmelter) 178
Jim Mutscheller (Joseph Wancho) 186
Steve Myhra (Rick Gonsalves) 189
Andy Nelson (Joshua M. Anderson) 194
Buzz Nutter (Randy Snow) 200
Jim Parker (George Bozeka) 202
Bill Pellington (Nick Ritzmann) 208
Sherman Plunkett (John W. Lesko) 213
George Preas (Rick Schabowski) 219
Billy Pricer (John Maxymuk) 222
Bert Rechichar (Rick Gonsalves) 226
Johnny Sample (Greg Selber) 230
Alex Sandusky (David Standish) 234
Leo Sanford (Joshua M. Anderson) 237
George Shaw (Jay Zahn) 242
Don Shinnick (Nick Ritzmann) 248
Jackie Simpson (John Maxymuk) 253
Art Spinney (Bill Lambert) 257
Dick Szymanski (David Standish) 259
Carl Taseff (Joseph Wancho) 262
Fuzzy Thurston (Rick Schabowski) 266
Johnny Unitas (George Bozeka) 269
Part 4: The Stadium
Memorial Stadium (Matthew Keddie) 281
The Baltimore Colts Marching Band (Randy Snow) 286
Part 5: The Press
Joe Croghan and Ernie Harwell (Joe Marren) 295
Cameron Snyder and John Steadman (Joe Marren) 300
Chuck Thompson and Bailey Goss (Joe Marren) 306
Sam Lacy (Ed Gruver) 311
Bob Wolff (John Vorperian) 317
About the Contributors 323
Index 327