Canadian Minor League Baseball

A History Since World War II

Not Yet Published


New 2022 Pre-Order

Available for pre-order / backorder

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: 9780786469925 Categories: , ,

About the Book

During 75 seasons of baseball (1946–2020), 71 teams in 21 minor leagues represented 35 Canadian cities, playing either under the aegis of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues (called Minor League Baseball since 1999) or independently. Sixteen teams operated for less than a year, including the eight teams of the Canadian Baseball League of 2003. Another 14 lasted three seasons or less. Seven have played continuously for 20 years or more, among them the Winnipeg Goldeyes of the independent Northern League and American Association, with 27 consecutive seasons since 1994. Chronicling their year-by-year fortunes, this history includes accounts of individual award winners, former Negro League players and future Hall-of-Famers, and traces of the rise and fall of independent league teams and the exodus of Canadian teams to the U.S.

About the Author(s)

Jon C. Stott, a professor emeritus at the University of Alberta, has previously published works on independent baseball and the beer industry. He lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Bibliographic Details

Jon C. Stott
Format: softcover (7 x 10)
Bibliographic Info: ca. 25 photos, appendix, bibliography, index
Copyright Date: 2021
pISBN: 978-0-7864-6992-5
eISBN: 978-1-4766-4500-1
Imprint: McFarland